Game of Thrones Season 2 Premiere Date

Fans of “Games of Thrones” won’t have to wait to much longer for the premiere of Season 2 (thankfully). HBO recently announced the premiere date for the season  as April 1st.

HBO confirmed  that the date for season 2 of “Game of Thrones” has indeed been set as April 1st 2012. Season 2 will be ten episodes long.

In case you need a recap, “Game of Thrones” is based on the popular book series “A Song of Ice and Fire,” by George R.R. Martin. The show adaptation has proven to be a hit as one of the highest rated Emmy winning fantasy series. It tells the tale of a struggle of power that is in itself pretty epic.

The show was so well received that it was picked up for a second season just two days after its first episode premiere. On July 14, 2011 the nominations for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards were announced, with Game of Thrones being nominated for 13 categories, including Outstanding Drama Series, Outstanding Casting for a Drama Series and Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for Peter Dinklage, which he won. The series also won an Emmy for Outstanding Main Title Design the weekend before, at the Academy’s non-televised technical Emmy awards presentation.

Returning cast members include Emilia Clarke, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Peter Dinklage, Michelle Fairley, Lena Headey and Kit Harington. David Benioff and D.B. Weiss executive produce.

Although several members of season 1’s cast are returning there are more new cast members being added. The new cast members include:

  • Gwendoline Christie as the female warrior Brienne of Tarth,
  • Liam Cunningham as the former smuggler Ser Davos Seaworth,
  • Oliver Ford Davies as Maester Cressen,
  • Stephen Dillane as would-be king and Robert’s brother, Stannis Baratheon,
  • Natalie Dormer as Lady Margaery Tyrell, wife of Renly Baratheon,
  • Carice van Houten as Melisandre of Asshai,
  •  Gemma Whelan as Yara Greyjoy (“Asha” in the novels; her name was changed to avoid confusion with the Wildling Osha),
  • Nonso Anozie as Xaro Xhoan Daxos,
  • Tom Wlaschiha as Jaqen H’ghar,
  • Kerr Logan as Matthos Seaworth,
  • Roy Dotrice as Pyromancer Hallyne,
  • Hannah Murray as Gilly,
  •  Karl Davies as Alton Lannister (a character who does not appear in the books),
  •  Ben Crompton as “Dolorous Edd” Tollet,
  • Michael McElhatton as Roose Bolton,
  •  Robert Pugh as Craster,
  • Patrick Malahide as Balon Greyjoy,
  • Daniel Portman as Podrick Payne,
  • Ian Hanmore as Pyat Pree
  • Fintan McKeown as Ser Amory Lorch,
  •  Rose Leslie as Ygritte.

If this doesn’t tie you over for now, you can also watch the season 2 teaser below:

Leave a Reply