Sookie Stackhouse Writer Has Another Series Optioned

Charlaine Harris, writer of the novels that inspired HBO’s award-winning series “True Blood”, may soon be developing a second show. Syfy recently bought the rights to Harris’ Harper Connelly Mysteries with plans to create a show titled “Grave Sight.”

The series is based on her four-book series that launched in 2005. The story is about a young woman named Harper Connelly, who was struck by lightning as a teenager.

Now in her 20s, she senses the location and last memories of dead people,” according to Entertainment Weekly. “In the Syfy adaptation, Connelly teams up with her protective stepbrother, Tolliver Lang, to help find a missing teenage girl, only to uncover a network of lies and murders throughout a small town in the Ozarks.”

The pilot episode is being written by Kam Miller (Law and Order: SVU). “Grave Sight” has a decent shot at picking up viewers considering Harris’ first book-to-television adaptation, “True Blood”, continues to enjoy great success going into its fifth season. The series has received critical acclaim, and has also won both an Emmy and a Golden Globe.

Harris, a New York Times bestselling author, also continues to have a large and devoted fanbase. The news of the prospective show is being re-tweeted at a rapid rate by Harris’ followers.

As long as Syfy doesn’t try anything weird (see: Sharktopus), the show should see generous viewership. For those interested in checking out the books before the Syfy premiere, official plot summaries follow.

Book 1: Grave Sight (2006)

Harper Connelly has what you might call a strange job: she finds dead people. She can sense the final location of a person who’s passed, and share their very last moment. The way Harper sees it, she’s providing a service to the dead while bringing some closure to the living – but she’s used to most people treating her like a blood-sucking leech. Traveling with her step-brother Tolliver as manager and sometime-bodyguard, she’s become an expert at getting in, getting paid, and getting out fast. Because for the living it’s always urgent – even if the dead can wait forever.

Book 2: Grave Surprise (2007)

“While in Memphis, psychic Harper Connelly senses-and finds-two bodies in a grave. One of a man centuries-dead. The other, a girl, recently deceased. Harper’s investigation yields another surprise: the next morning, a third body is found-in the very same grave.

Book 3: An Ice Cold Grave (2008)

Hired to find a boy gene missing in Doraville, North Carolina, Harper Connelly and her brother Tolliver head there, only to discover that the boy was the only one left of several who had disappeared over the previous five years. All of them teenagers. All unlikely runaways.

All calling for Harper.

Harper soon finds them—eight victims, buried in the half-frozen ground, all come to an unspeakable end. Afterward, what she most wants to do is collect her fee and get out of town ahead of the media storm that’s soon to descend. But when she’s attacked and prevented from leaving, she reluctantly becomes a part of the investigation as she learns more than she cares to about the dark mysteries and long-hidden secrets of Doraville—knowledge that makes her the next person likely to rest in an ice-cold grave.

Book 4: Grave Secret (2010)

Lightning-struck sleuth Harper Connelly and her stepbrother Tolliver take a break from looking for the dead to visit the two little girls they both think of as family. But as they travel to Texas, memories of their horrible childhood resurface. Family secrets ensnare them both, as Tolliver learns his father is out of jail and Harper finally discovers what happened to her missing sister Cameron so many years before. And what she finds will change her world forever.

All of the books are available on Amazon for $7.99. For comic lovers, there is also a three-part graphic adaptation of the series. Launched by Dynamite Entertainment last year, the book offers yet another take on Harris’ mystery.

Leave a Reply