Category Archives: Music

Listen to Mockingjay Single from Chvrches

the-hunger-games-mockingjay-poster-katniss-dl-image (Custom) (Custom)

Chvrches has officially released their single for the soundtrack for the upcoming film, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1. The single is titled “Dead Air” and you can hear it below!

“Chvrches have released “Dead Air, their contribution to the Lorde-curated soundtrack. Mockingjay-wise, “Dead Air” follows Lorde’s “Yellow Flicker Beat” and The Chemical Brothers’ “This Is Not a Game.”

The soundtrack for Part 1 will also have tracks by Tove Lo, Grace Jones and Charli XCX, as well as a collaboration between Major Lazer and Ariana Grande.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 soundtrack is available for pre-order on iTunes and is expected to release on Nov. 17. Mockingjay – Part 1 hits theaters Nov. 21.

Listen to “Dead Air” in the player below.

“Guardians of the Galaxy” Soundtrack Hits No. 1 on Billboard 200


Guardians of the Galaxy is not just one of the best movies of the year it also has one of the best soundtracks of the year (and that is not just a personal opinion.) The official soundtrack to the film has hit No. 1 on the Billboard 200.

The soundtrack is named “Awesome Mix Vol. 1.” It was given its name because the tape itself is almost a character within  Guardians of the Galaxy. The songs were put together by the main character’s mother on a cassette tape which he continually listens to on his Walkman from his childhood. All the songs except one are heard within the film.

The mixtape style compilation is made up of all previously released songs from between the 1960’s and 1970’s. Most songs were even on the Billboard Hot 100 at the time of their initial release.

“Awesome Mix Vol. 1” has so far sold nearly 110,000 copies since the week ending August 10. When it first debuted it hit the Billboard 100 at No. 3.

The track listing for “Awesome Mix Vol. 1” include:

Note: All songs—with the exception of “Spirit in the Sky”, which is played in the trailer—are featured in the film.

  • “Hooked on a Feeling” – Blue Swede
  • “Go All the Way” – Raspberries
  • “Spirit in the Sky” – Norman Greenbaum
  • “Moonage Daydream” – David Bowie
  • “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” – Elvin Bishop
  • “I’m Not in Love” – 10cc
  • “I Want You Back” – The Jackson 5
  • “Come and Get Your Love” – Redbone
  • “Cherry Bomb” – The Runaways
  • “Escape (The Piña Colada Song)” – Rupert Holmes
  • “O-o-h Child” – Five Stairsteps
  • “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” – Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell

“True Blood” Musical Being Developed


The HBO series “True Blood” is entering its final season but that doesn’t mean it is over for good. No, not a movie. A MUSICAL! The news comes from the mouth of composer Nathan Barr who has written the scores for every season the show.

“This was something that I pitched to HBO and [show creator] Alan Ball,” said composer Barr.

According to Barr, the musical will focus on telepath and perpetual death and destruction magnet, Sookie Stackhouse, (portrayed by Anna Paquin in the HBO series). However, Barr is aware that after seven seasons of wild twists and turns it will be difficult to trim the story down to one stage production.

“I think we’re really going to try to return to the roots of the show,” Barr commented.

Stephen Moyer, who portrays Bill Compton in the series opposite Paquin, also revealed that helped Barr put together some samples of the True Blood musical presented to HBO and Ball.

Barr plans to present a workshop version of the musical in about a year from now. He is hopeful that it will make it its way to Broadway but that “there’s no guarantees.” He added, “But I think the direction we’re heading in is really exciting.”

Disney Teams With William Goldman on “Princess Bride: The Musical”


A new musical is in the works following one the greatest love stories ever told: The Princess Bride. The iconic 1987 film was based on the novel of the same name written by William Golding in 1973. A new deal between Disney and Goldman has the project finally moving forward to musical territory.

The Princess Bride a framed tales. Told by a kindly old man to his ailing grandson, it spins a comic tale of love and adventure about Buttercup, a young beauty reluctantly engaged to the kingdom of Florin’s evil prince but kidnapped on the eve of their wedding. She is ultimately rescued by her farmboy sweetheart Westley, aided by a giant and a Spanish master swordsman.

The film starred Cary Elwes, Robin Wright, Mandy Patinkin, Chris Sarandon, Wallace Shawn, Andre the Giant, Billy Crystal and Peter Falk. It was produced by Andrew Scheinman and Reiner, and executive produced by Norman Lear.

The stage version of the love story was proposed years ago but was cancelled after several disagreements. Goldman collaborated on that project with Adam Guettel, the Tony-winning composer of The Light in the Piazza. But while much of the score was completed, development was halted over a financial dispute.Currently, it seems like the project is finally making headway.

Walt Disney Studios chairman Alan Horn said,

“My involvement in The Princess Bride goes back to 1987 and it has always been close to my heart. For all those years and a few more, I’ve been friends with the brilliant Bill Goldman, and to now have a stage production of this film in development at Disney is honestly a dream come true. It couldn’t be in better hands than those of the experienced Disney Theatrical team led by Tom Schumacher.”

No timeline has yet been announced.

Hunger Games: Catching Fire Soundtrack List Unveiled


The official track listing for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack has been released. The soundtrack will be released through Lionsgate and Republic Records.  The full soundtrack list includes tracks by hit artists such as Imagine Dragons, Lorde, The Weeknd, Ellie Goulding, Santigold and Mikky Ekko. The album will be released Nov. 19, just days before the release of The Hunger Games: Catching Fire on Nov. 22 worldwide by Lionsgate. Continue reading

The New Trailer for Black Nativity Posted Online


The big screen adaptation of “Black Nativity” has released a new trailer online by Fox Searchlight Pictures. The musical adaptation is based on the popular Langston Hughes play of the same name. The film stars Forest Whitaker, Angela Bassett, Tyrese Gibson, Jennifer Hudson,Mary J. Blige, Jacob Latimore, Vondie Curtis-Hall, and Nas. Continue reading

Hans Zimmer Talks Returning for Superman/Batman Film


World renowned composer Hans Zimmer seemingly has scored a majority of the DC Comics feature films including  Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight trilogy and Zack Snyder’s Man of Steel. So he was a natural choice when it came to choosing someone to score the upcoming Superman/Batman film. But Zimmer hasn’t agreed just yet. Continue reading

Fifty Shades of Grey Casts Lead Roles


The two lead roles of Anastasia Steel and Christian Grey were under much contention over the last few months as fans and critics alike suggested their dream actors for the film adaptation. Finally, Universal Pictures and Focus Features have cast the lead spots for the highly anticipated film adaptation. Dakota Johnson and Charlie Hunnam have been chosen. Continue reading

Coldplay To Release Song “Atlas” For The Hunger Games: Catching Fire


The multiplatinum group, Coldplay, has announced they will release the first track for the upcoming official soundtrack for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire. The news came from both Lionsgate and Republic Records.The song will be the first time that the group has recorded an original song for a motion picture. The song, entitled, “Atlas” will be released on iTunes and all digital retailers on August 26th, 2013.  Continue reading